​CFC at TIFF 2012

By CFC Staff August 10, 2012 00:00

CFC Short Dramatic Film ‘FROST' Among Festival Selections

Download PDF


Toronto, August 9, 2012 – An exceptional collection of films created by CFC alumni will screen at the 30th Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), September 6th – 16th. CFC alumni and CFC mentors are credited in feature and short films and as project lab participants. Included in the festival lineup is the CFC short film FROST, created through the CFC Short Dramatic Film Program. FROST is directed/written by Jeremy Ball ('11), produced by Lauren Grant ('06), co-produced by Robert Munroe (CFC Board Member), and edited by Richard Mandin ('11). The film stars Emily Piggford, Oscar Hsu, and Lara Daans. In FROST, a young arctic hunter's search for food takes her beyond a sacred boundary and leads to a strange and terrifying discovery. The film screens in the Short Cuts Canada Programme #4.


Two other CFC-supported projects will also screen at the festival. Stories We Tell, a new feature documentary directed/written by Sarah Polley ('01) and produced by Anita Lee ('01), will screen in the Special Presentations programme. Stories We Tell was developed with the assistance of the CFC NFB Documentary Program. Home Again, directed/written by Sudz Sutherland and written/produced by Jennifer Holness ('99), will screen among the Contemporary World Cinema selections. Home Again was the CFC-supported project for Tribeca All Access in 2009. Congratulations go out to more than 50 CFC alumni who will showcase their exceptional work across several diverse programs at TIFF exemplifying CFC's dedication to launching Canada's top creative talent. CFC will be represented in the following film presentations and projects labs:

  • Inescapable: director/writer Ruba Nadda (CFC Director Mentor), co-producer Aeschylus Poulos ('12)
Special Presentations
  • Antiviral: editor: Matt Hannam ('05)
  • Liverpool: director/writer Manon Briand ('09)
  • Rebelle (War Witch):producers Marie-Claude Poulin ('11) &Pierre Even (‘11)
  • Stories We Tell: director Sarah Polley ('01), producer Anita Lee ('01)
  • Thanks For Sharing: producer Miranda de Pencier ('98)


  • The End of Time: producer Ingrid Veninger ('00), cinematographer Nick de Pencier ('97)


  • Blackbird: producer Marc Almon ('08), associate producerStuart Reid ('10)
  • Picture Day: producers Lauren Grant ('06), Peter Harvey ('12),Aeschylus Poulos ('12), editor Dev Singh ('09)

Contemporary World Cinema

  • Home Again: writer/director Sudz Sutherland ('09), writer/producer Jennifer Holness ('99)
  • The Lesser Blessed: director/writer Anita Doron ('07), producerChristina Piovesan (CFC Producer Mentor), editor David Ostry ('04)

Midnight Madness

  • The ABCs of Death: with a segment directed/written by Kaare Andrews ('06)

Short Cuts Canada:

  • 100 Musicians: writer/director/executive producer Charles Officer ('02), executive producer Aeschylus Poulos, producer John Nadalin ('12), editor Jorge Weisz ('11), actor Abena Malika ('10)
  • CanoeJacked: writer/director/editor Jonathan Williams, producer Andrew Nicholas McCann Smith ('12)
  • Dear Scavengers: executive producer Daniel Bekerman ('09), producers Laura Perlmutter ('11), Andrew Nicholas McCann Smith, editor Courtney Goldman ('10)
  • Frost: director/writer Jeremy Ball ('11), producer Lauren Grant('06), co-producer Robert Munroe (CFC Board Member), editor Richard Mandin ('11)
  • Let the Daylight into the Swamp: writer/director Jeffrey St. Jules ('04), producer Anita Lee, editor Stephen Philipson ('02)
  • Life Doesn't Frighten Me: director/writer/co-producer Stephen Dunn (currently enrolled in the Cineplex Entertainment Film Program's Directors' Lab)
  • Malody: actor Alex Paxton-Beesley ('10)
  • Model: director Dylan Reibling ('11), editor Carole Larsen ('97)

TIFF Rising Stars

  • Charlie Carrick ('11)

Talent Lab

  • Tony Asimakopoulos ('03)
  • Dane Clark ('08)
  • Heather K. Dahlstrom ('09)

Producers Lab Toronto

  • Daniel Bekerman ('09),
  • Aisling Chin-Yee ('12)
  • Lauren Grant ('06)
  • Anita K. Sharma ('09)
  • Rayne Zukerman ('09)

Telefilm Canada Pitch This!

  • The WBI: Annie Bradley ('07)

TIFF Docs Conference

  • Yung Chang ('09) presents a preview of selected scenes from The Fruit Hunters.