CFC Celebrates its Songwriters and Composers at the 2014 Slaight Music Residency Showcase

By Alanna Smith ● September 25, 2014 16:00

On September 24, 2014 at 7 p.m., CFC celebrated its 2013 songwriters and composers, Adaline, Robyn Dell’Unto, Matthew O’Halloran, Erica Procunier, Rob Teehan and Lodewijk Vos and Joseph Murray of Menalon during the 2014 Slaight Music Residency Showcase at TIFF Bell Lightbox.

CFC alumni, staff and supporters, including Gary Slaight, CFC Board of Directors, Donna Slaight and The Slaight Family Music Lab Songwriting Chair Marc Jordan, gathered to share in the accomplishments and talents of the 2013 residents. Slawko Klymkiw, CEO, and Kathryn Emslie, Chief Programs Officer, opened the evening with welcoming speeches.

“I wish I’d had something like this when I started out, it would have been a game changer,” said Marc Jordan in his speech, emphasizing the importance of this program and the depth to which music contributes to film and television. He then introduced the 2013 residents to the stage.

In introducing the Showcase pieces, Larissa Giroux, Executive in Charge of Music and Acting Talent noted: “Filmed in a single day, these Showcase pieces celebrate the distinct talent of our songwriters and composers and illustrate how music brings life to the moving image.” The incoming 2014 residents, Ben Fox, David Arcus, Michelle Osis, Laura Barrett, Michael Olsen and Liam Titcomb, were also introduced and welcomed to the program.

Demos were shown first, exhibiting an impressive range of each resident’s musical work in television and film. The Showcase pieces concluded the evening’s entertainment, all of which were greeted by enthusiastic applause from the audience.

A reception was held afterward at SET on King.

To screen the music Showcases, CLICK HERE.