CFC Alumni Shine at the 2015 Canadian Screen Awards

By Cory Angeletti-Szasz ● March 02, 2015 13:00

Canadians are receiving well-deserved praise and recognition worldwide for their creativity, originality and excellence in creating top-quality film, television and digital media content.

There has been considerable interest in Canadian TV shows, including Murdoch Mysteries, Schitt’s Creek, The Book of Negroes, X Company, Saving Hope, Rookie Blue, Sensitive Skin, among many others. Canadian films are being screened at film festivals all over the world, like TIFF, Sundance, Palm Springs, Berlin and Santa Barbara to name a few, and Canada’s digital media talent are flourishing.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television is building a legacy to honour Canada’s remarkable screen-based talent through Canadian Screen Week and the Canadian Screen Awards. The Academy seeks to heighten public awareness and increase audience attendance, viewership and appreciation of Canadian screen productions through awards shows, social media channels and activities. Their activities and awards have evolved over the years to give proper attention and appreciation to Canada’s remarkable film, television and digital media talent, which was evident by last night’s televised Canadian Screen Awards event broadcast on CBC.

Eighteen CFC alumni received a total of 18 Canadian Screen Awards from the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television at various events throughout Canadian Screen Week, from Monday, February 23 to Sunday, March 1, 2015. Emmanuel Kabongo, a recent graduate of CFC’s Actors Conservatory, was at yesterday’s awards ceremony to present the award for Best Original Program or Series produced for Digital Media – Fiction, which went to Space Riders: Division Earth, directed by alumna Jordan Canning.

Throughout Canadian Screen Week, Canada’s top screen-based creators were celebrated for delivering excellence in film, television and digital media and for their remarkable work on- and off-screen. Among the Canadian Screen Award winners are the following CFC alumni:

Academy Special Awards

Golden Screen Award for TV Drama / Comedy
  • Rookie Blue, created by CFC alumna Tassie Cameron and produced by alumnus David Wellington, won one of the two first-ever Golden Screen Awards for TV

Claude Jutra Award
  • Sponsored by Telefilm Canada, presented to Jeffrey St. Jules for his first feature film, Bang Bang Baby

Margaret Collier Award
  • Sponsored by Halfire Entertainment, presented to Tassie Cameron for a body of work in Canadian film and/or television, or for significant contribution to the international profile of Canadian film and/or television

Theatrical Documentary and Short Film

Best Editing in a Feature Length Documentary
  • Alex Shuper – Super Duper Alice Cooper

Best Live Action Short Drama


Shaw Media Award for Best Dramatic Series

Best Biography or Arts Documentary Program or Series

Best Children's or Youth Fiction Program or Series
  • Degrassi – Sarah Glinski

Best Lifestyle or Talk Program or Series
Best Direction in a Comedy Program or Series
  • Sensitive Skin: “The Return Of The Other Davina” – Don McKellar

Best Picture Editing in a Comedy or Variety Program or Series
  • Sensitive Skin: “The Return Of The Other Davina” – Matthew Hannam

Best Sound in a Documentary, Factual or Lifestyle Program or Series

Best Writing in a Dramatic Series
  • Orphan Black: “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried” – Graeme Manson

Bell Media Award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role
  • Sensitive Skin: “Not The Haitian Corpse” – Don McKellar

Digital Media

Best Original Program or Series produced for Digital Media – Fiction
  • Space Riders: Division Earth (iThentic) - Jonas Diamond
Best Cross-Platform Project – Children's and Youth

Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction

Best Cross-Platform Project – Non-Fiction

Best Performance in a Program or Series Produced for Digital Media

CFC extends sincere congratulations to our alumni who received 2015 CSAs. We are so proud of all of your hard work and accomplishments!

We would also like to acknowledge some of our friends, supporters, mentors and board members on their Canadian Screen Award wins:

Bell Media Award for Best Comedy Series
  • Call Me Fitz TMN / Movie Central (Bell Media / Corus Entertainment) (Entertainment One Television International, Amaze Film + Television, Big Motion Pictures) – CFC Board Member John Morayniss co-executive produced the series, which stars friend of the CFC Jason Priestley
Shaw Media Award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role
  • Orphan Black – “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried Space” (Bell Media) – Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black was created by CFC alumni John Fawcett and Graeme Manson
Achievement in Music - Original Score
  • CFC mentor Howard Shore for Maps to the Stars
Best Writing in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series

Academy Special Awards

Academy Legacy Award
Cineplex Golden Reel Award
  • Produced by long-time CFC supporter Don Carmody, starring CFC’s inaugural Actors Conservatory Chair, Keifer Sutherland

Congratulations to all on their wins. What a beautiful tribute to Canadians in film, TV and digital media. We are proud to be Canadian!

Click here for the full list of announcements.

Cory Angeletti-Szasz

Manager, Communications