​CFC at 2013 Toronto International Film Festival

By CFC Staff July 24, 2013 00:00

Brendan Gleeson, Taylor Kitsch and Gordon Pinsent star in Don McKellar's
The Grand Seduction

A number of films created by CFC alumni will screen at the 2013 Toronto Interntational Film Festival. CFC would like to extend special congratulations to the following alumni and project participants with work included in the festival:


  • The Art of the Steal, produced by Nicholas Tabarrok (2010 Telefilm Canada Features Comedy Lab)
  • The Grand Seduction, directed by Don McKellar ('92)
  • The Right Kind of Wrong, written by Megan Martin ('99)

Special Presentations

  • Enemy – Editor Matthew Hannam ('05)
  • The F Word – Producer Marc Stephenson (2011 Telefilm Canada Features Comedy Lab)
  • The Husband – Producer Daniel Bekerman ('13), Cher Hawrysh ('05), Writer Kelly Harms ('06), starring Sarah Allen ('09), with music by Todor Kobakov ('12)
  • Watermark – Producer Nicholas de Pencier ('97)


  • Rhymes For Young Ghouls - Director/Writer/Editor Jeff Barnaby ('12), Producer John Christou ('12) and Aisling Chin-Yee ('12), Executive Producer Justine Whyte. Rhymes For Young Ghouls was created through CFC Features and received the Creative Promise Award for Narrative at Tribeca All Access 2012.

Contemporary World Cinema

  • A Journey (Une Jeune Fille) – Director/writer Catherine Martin ('92)
  • The Animal Project – Director/writer/producer Ingrid Veninger ('00), Executive Producer Karen Walton ('96), Editor Jonathan Eagan ('08), Starring Johnathan Sousa ('11) and Kate Corbett ('10)
  • Empire of Dirt - Writer: Shannon Masters ('05), editor: Jorge Weisz ('11), with a performance by Kate Corbett ('10). Empire of Dirt received development support through CFC Features, and was a CFC-supported project at Tribeca All Access 2008.
The Animal Project
TIFF DocsMidnight Madness
  • Afflicted- Editor Greg Ng ('07)


  • Gerontophilia - Producer Leonard Farlinger ('90)

Short Cuts Canada

  • Anatomy of Assistance- director/writer Cory Bowles (‘12), producer Lauren Corber ('12), writer John Titley ('12), editorJordan Crute ('12), composer Jeff Morrow ('12)
  • Method – executive producer David Wellington ('90)
  • PilgrimsElizabeth Yake ('94)
  • Portrait as a Random Act of Violence – director/producer Randall Okita ('09), editor Mike Reisacher ('09), composersJoseph Murray and Lodewijk Vos (residents of the upcoming Slaight Music Residency)
  • We Wanted More – director/writer Stephen Dunn ('12), producer Jennifer Shin ('12), writer Margaret Lester ('12), editor Bryan Atkinson ('12), composer Todor Kobakov ('12)

TIFF Rising Stars

  • Johnathan Sousa ('10)

Telefilm Canada Pitch This

  • Stay GirlJohn Christou ('12) and Aisling Chin-Yee ('12)
  • The EngineersDaniel Cockburn ('13) and Daniel Bekerman ('13). The Engineers was recently selected for development by CFC Features.
  • Window WatchingSvjetlana Jaklenec ('11) and Laura Perlmutter ('11)

Producers Lab Toronto

  • Matthew Cervi ('04)
  • Jennifer Holness ('99)
  • Mark Montefiore ('05)
  • Anna Stratton ('91)
  • Ingrid Veninger ('00)

Talent Lab

  • Naomi Jaye ('04)
  • Shannon Masters ('05)

Additionally, several alumni are taking part in Stage to Screen, a commemorative project created by The Ontario Heritage Trust and producer Glen Wood ('07) of ViDDYWELL FiLMS, marking the 100th anniversary of Toronto landmark The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre. Shorts screening include:

  • The Archivist – director/writer Jeremy Ball ('11), producer Glen Wood ('07) and Jordana Aarons ('07), editor Richard Mandin('11), starring Jesse Aaron Dwyre ('10)
  • The Good Escape – director/writer Nadia Litz ('09), producer Glen Wood ('07) and Jordana Aarons ('07), editor Jonathan Eagan ('08), starring Kristin Adams ('11)
  • Silent Garden – director/writer Dylan Riebling ('11), editor Andrew Kines ('05)
  • Wakening – writer Tony Elliot ('01), producer Glen Wood ('07) and Jordana Aarons ('07), editor Jonathan Eagan ('08)

CFC would like to congratulate program chairs Paul Haggis and Mychael Danna on having work screen as part of the festival's Special Presentations program. Haggis, chair of the Cineplex Entertainment and Short Dramatic Film programs, will debut his film Third Person. Danna, Composer Chair of The Slaight Family Music Lab, composed the score for Devil's Knot, directed by Atom Egoyan.

Third Person

For the full lineup of current titles, please CLICK HERE