CFC Alumni Honoured with 2017 Canadian Screen Awards

By Emily Gagne ● March 13, 2017 12:00

Academy of Canada Cinema & Television Logo From March 6 to 12, 2017, Canadian film, television and digital media talent were honoured as the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television handed out the 2017 Canadian Screen Awards (CSAs) at various ceremonies across Toronto. The CFC is proud to share that 20 alumni and mentors received CSAs over the course of Canadian Screen Week, which wrapped Sunday evening with a CBC broadcast gala hosted by Howie Mandel. 

As previously announced, a CFC alumnus (Randall Okita) also received this year’s John Dunning Discovery Award, presented to the best micro-budget film of the year. We congratulate Okita on his success with The Lockpicker, which was produced through the Telefilm Canada Micro-Budget Production Program.

A full list of this year’s alumni winners can be seen below. To view a general list of CSA winners, CLICK HERE.

Two teens looking through a car window

The cast of Weirdos. 

Original Screenplay

Daniel MacIvor (Alumni and Mentor) – Weirdos

Achievement in Music – Original Score

Todor KobakovBorn to be Blue

Best Dramatic Series 

Orphan Black

Space (Bell Media)

(Temple Street)

John FawcettGraeme Manson, Alex Levine

Best Comedy Series


CraveTV (Bell Media)

(New Metric Media)

Mark Montefiore

Best Animated Program or Series

The Curse of Clara: A Holiday Tale


(Smiley Guy Studios)

Jeremy Diamond, Denny Silverthorne

Best Documentary Program

My Millennial Life


(Makin' Movies Inc.)

Maureen Judge

Three men in party hats The cast of Letterkenny.

Best TV Movie or Limited Series 

Murdoch Mysteries - A Merry Murdoch Christmas



Christina Jennings, Peter Mitchell (Mentor)

Best Direction in a Dramatic Series

Orphan Black – "Transgressive Border Crossing"

Space (Bell Media)

(Temple Street)

John Fawcett

Best Original Music for a Non-Fiction Program or Series

Guantanamo's Child: Omar Khadr

Documentary Channel (CBC)

(White Pine Pictures)

Mark Korven (Mentor)

Best Original Music Score for a Program

Murdoch Mysteries - A Merry Murdoch Christmas



Robert Carli (Mentor)

Best Photography in a Documentary Program or Factual Series

Real Vikings: Age of Invasion

History (Corus Entertainment)

(Take 5 Productions)

Mark Caswell

Best Original Music Score for a Series

Orphan Black – "The Scandal of Altruism"

Space (Bell Media)

(Temple Street)

Trevor Yulle (Mentor)

A family stands behind a convenience store cash register

The cast of Kim's Convenience.

Best Picture Editing in a Comedy Program or Series

Kim's Convenience – "Gay Discount"



Kye Meechan

Best Sound in a Comedy or Dramatic Program or Series

Vikings – The Last Ship

History (Corus Entertainment)

(Take 5 Productions Inc)

David McCallum

Best Writing in a Dramatic Program or Limited Series

Murdoch Mysteries - A Merry Murdoch Christmas



Peter Mitchell (Mentor)

Best Writing in a Dramatic Series
Presented with the participation of the Cogeco Program Development Fund

Orphan Black – "The Collapse of Nature"

Space (Bell Media)

(Temple Street)

Graeme Manson

Best Writing in an Animated Program or Series

Nerds and Monsters – "Bee-Hive Yourself"

YTV (Corus Entertainment)

(Slap Happy Cartoons)

Craig Martin

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Dramatic Program or Limited Series



(Full Flood Productions)

Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers

Two adults and three children standing near a Christmas tree

The cast of Murdoch Mysteries - A Very Murdoch Christmas.  

CFC alumni, if we missed your award, please let us know by e-mailing

Person placeholder
Emily Gagne

Specialist, Social Media & Digital Communications