TORONTO – January 16, 2014 – CFC (Canadian Film Centre) is pleased to announce the nominations of numerous alumni and participants across various categories at the inaugural Canadian Screen Awards.

Leading the pack is CFC Primetime Story Room developed series, ORPHAN BLACK. Starring Golden Globe nominated actress, Tatiana Maslany, the sci-fi series received a total of 14 nominations at this year's CSAs.

In the film categories, CFC Features' RHYMES FOR YOUNG GHOULS lead actress Kawennáhere Devery Jacobs received a nomination for Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role. The critically-acclaimed feature from director Jeff Barnaby ('12) opens theatrically in Toronto, January 31st with additional dates to be announced shortly. Jennifer Podemski ('09) and Shannon Masters ('05) CFC supported film, EMPIRE OF DIRT, was recognized for five awards including, Best Motion Picture and Original Screenplay.

Receiving a record-breaking number of submissions this year, The Academy will be celebrating nominees during Canadian Screen Week, Mar. 3-9, 2014.

CFC congratulates all its alumni and program participant nominees:

In Film:

  • Best Motion Picture: Jennifer Podemski ('09), EMPIRE OF DIRT
  • Best Feature Length Documentary: Nicholas de Pencier ('97), WATERMARK
  • Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary: Lea Marin ('04), My Prairie Home
  • Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role:
    o Cara Gee, EMPIRE OF DIRT
    o Kawennáhere Devery Jacobs, RHYMES FOR YOUNG GHOULS (CFC Feature)
  • Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: Jennifer Podemski (‘09), EMPIRE OF DIRT
  • Achievement in Costume Design: Sarah Millman, MOLLY MAXWELL (CFC Feature)
  • Achievement in Editing:
    o Jorge Weisz ('11), EMPIRE OF DIRT
    o Matthew Hannam ('05), Enemy
  • Original Screenplay: Shannon Masters ('05), EMPIRE OF DIRT

In Television:

  • Shaw Media Award for Best Dramatic Series:
    o Orphan Black, Graeme Manson (‘95), John Fawcett ('92) and Karen Walton ('96)
    o Bomb Girls, Michael MacLennan ('97)
    o Motive, Erin Haskett ('02), Dennis Heaton ('98)
  • Best Children's or Youth Fiction Program or Series: Alive, John Nadalin (Producer of MOLLY MAXWELL) and Jordan Gross (‘08)
  • Best Direction in a Dramatic Series: Orphan Black, John Fawcett ('92)
  • Best direction in a Lifestyle/Practical Information Program or Series: The Chef's Domain, Harvey Crossland ('95)
  • Best Pre-School Program or Series: Monster Math, Charles Bishop ('94)
  • Best Writing in a Children's or Youth Program or Series: Almost Naked Animals, Steve Westren ('93)
  • Best Direction in a Children's or Youth Program or Series: Wingin It- Total Debate of the Heart, Claire Ross Dunn ('96)
  • Best History or Biography Documentary Program or Series: Stone Thrower: The Chuck Ealey Story, Charles Officer ('02)
  • Best Documentary Program:
    o Ice, Sweat and Tears, Judy Holm (Producer/Comedy Lab Participant) and Michael McNamara (Producer/Comedy Lab Participant)
    o West wind: The Visions of Tom Thomson, Peter Raymont ('88)
  • Shaw Media Award for Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role: ORPHAN BLACK - Unconscious Selection - Tatiana Maslany
  • Best Writing in a Dramatic Series:
    o ORPHAN BLACK, Graeme Manson ('95)
    o ORPHAN BLACK, Alex Levine ('08)
    o Flashpoint, Adam Barken ('07)
  • Best Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series: 20th Annual Indspire Awards - Jennifer Podemski ('09)
  • Best Picture Editing in an Information Program or Series: Canada's Worst Driver, Neil Sitka ('08)
  • Best Writing in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series: Borealis, Andrew Rai Berzins ('93) (Writer, BLOOD & DONUTS
  • Best Direction in a Comedy Program or Series: Seed, James Genn ('03)
  • Best Picture Editing in a Documentary Program or Series: Blood Relative, Mark Ratzlaff ('13)
  • Best Animated Program or Series: Fugget About It, Nicholas Tabarrok (Producer/Comedy Lab Participant)
  • Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series: Lights Out!, Judy Holm (Producer/Comedy Lab Participant) and Michael McNamara (Producer/Comedy Lab Participant)
  • Barbara Sears Award for Best Editorial Research: The Mystery of Mazo de la Roche, Maya Gallus ('93)
  • Best Direction in a Program or Mini-Series: The Phantoms, Sudz Sutherland (Writer/Director Tribeca All Access Participant)
  • Best Writing in a Comedy Program or Series: Satisfaction – Penis Face Cat Funeral, Jenn Engels (2013 Bell Media Showrunner Bootcamp Participant)
  • Bell Media Award for Best Comedy Program or Series: Call Me Fitz, Dennis Heaton ('98)

In Digital Media:

  • Best Cross-Platform Project – Children's and Youth: The Next Step Interactive, James Milward ('05)
  • Best Cross-Platform Project – Non-Fiction: The Amazing Race Canada Interactive - CJ Hervey ('04) and James Milward ('05), Big Brother Canada - C.J. Hervey (‘04) and James Milward ('05), Perfect Storms Interactive - James Milward ('05), Over the Rainbow - Paul Mcgrath (NBC Multiplatform Project) and Tessa Sproule ('98)
  • Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction: Murdoch Mysteries: Nightmare on Queen St., Christina Jennings ('88), and Jay Bennett (ideaBOOST participant), Continuum Interactive, James Milward ('05), The Republic of Doyle Ride-Along App, Eva Riinitze ('03)
  • Best Original Program or Series produced for Digital Media – Non-Fiction: The Real Backpackers , Jay Bennett (ideaBOOST participant)
  • Best Original Interactive Production Produced for Digital Media: Ruby Skye P.I., Jill Golick ('95)